Main contest in Meghalaya and Nagaland in these similarities, by-elections in 4 states also today, 10 special things

Voting is underway in view of the assembly elections in Meghalaya and Nagaland. This time people are going to vote on the demand of separate state, elimination of corruption and other issues. The BJP, which formed a coalition government with regional parties in the northeastern states, has put in full force this time to strengthen its hold. At the same time, assembly by-elections are also held in Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Arunachal Pradesh and Jharkhand today. Come, let us know in 10 points what is special in today’s elections.

In both Meghalaya and Nagaland, this time polling is being held for 59 seats only.

Election to Sohiang seat in Meghalaya was postponed following the death of a candidate, while in Nagaland’s Akuluto seat, BJP’s only rival Congress candidate has decided to withdraw from the polls.

After this, the BJP MLA has already won. Talking about Meghalaya, the BJP is moving forward with a big target in the assembly elections. The BJP is contesting alone this time after a tussle with CM Konrad Sangma’s party NPP (National People’s Party) and is expected to increase its seats.

This time in Meghalaya, a multi-cornered contest will be seen. Here Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress is also in the fray along with BJP, Congress, Konrad Sangma’s NPP. A total of 13 parties are in the fray here. With former CM Mukul Sangma and several other Congress MLAs crossing over to the Trinamool Congress, it has now become the largest opposition party in Meghalaya.

This time in Meghalaya the candidates are attracting everyone’s attention with their names. These include names like Sweden, Thailand, Tripura, Tibet, Goa and Meghalaya, Moonlight Pariyot.

It is believed that the NPP of Konrad Sangma’s party is at loggerheads with the BJP because of its ambition to make inroads in the northeastern states. Now NPP is also eyeing Nagaland.

Nagaland is also witnessing a triangular contest this time and the BJP is contesting the elections in alliance with its partner NDPP (Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party). BJP is contesting on 20 and NDPP on 40 seats. Please inform that NDPP leader Neiphiu Rio is the Chief Minister in Nagaland.

The Congress and the Naga People’s Front are contesting 23 and 22 seats separately. The Christian population in Nagaland is around 85 per cent and all parties here are making promises of security and new schemes to woo them.

Coming to the bypolls, polling is underway in Erode East in Tamil Nadu, Lumla in Arunachal Pradesh, Sagardighi in West Bengal and Ramgarh assembly seat in Jharkhand. The bypoll in Erode East assembly seat is crucial for both the ruling DMK alliance and the opposition party AIADMK. DMK, led by Chief Minister MK Stalin, will have to prove its popularity even after staying in power through this election. At the same time, Mamta’s party TMC in Bengal will also have to save its credibility in the by-elections.

Leave a Comment