Election of Mayor of Chandigarh today, BJP fielded Anoop Gupta and AAP fielded Jasbir Laddi

city ​​beautiful will get its new mayor today (Tuesday). Councilors of Congress and Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) will not take part in the voting. In such a situation, there is now a direct fight between the BJP and the Aam Aadmi Party for the mayoral election. BJP has nominated Anoop Gupta while AAP has nominated Jasbir Singh Laddi as its mayor candidate.

On the other hand, in view of the elections to be held today, section 144 of CrPC has been imposed in the municipal building and its 50 meters radius.

Along with the mayor, there will also be an election for senior deputy mayor and deputy mayor. BJP has nominated Kanwarjit Rana for the post of Senior Deputy Mayor and Harjit Singh for the post of Deputy Mayor while AAP has nominated Taruna Mehta for the post of Senior Deputy Mayor and Suman Singh for the post of Deputy Mayor.

The BJP has a total of 15 votes, including the votes of MPs, while AAP has only the votes of its 14 councillors. If there is no reversal, then BJP’s victory is certain, although Aam Aadmi Party is expecting defections in BJP.

After the nomination last Thursday, all the three parties have moved out of the city with their respective councilors as no one wants to let their councilors break. Now on Tuesday, it will be decided in the House that the mayor’s crown will go to BJP’s Anoop Gupta or AAP’s Jasbir Singh Laddi. At present, despite the cold, the political mercury is in full swing.

Voting process will start at 11 am

Elections will be held for the posts of Mayor, Senior Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayor in the Municipal Corporation on Tuesday. The voting process will start from 11 am. Amit Jindal has been designated as the presiding officer for the election. The election will be held under the supervision of DC Vinay Pratap Singh.

All the election results will come within about one to one and a half hours. Will go back to DC after being elected mayor. After that the newly appointed Mayor will conduct the election of Senior Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

Congress state president will return with all councilors in the evening

The meeting of all the six councilors of Congress was held in Kasauli (Himachal Pradesh) on Monday. State President HS Lucky presided over the meeting. After discussing the strategy for the mayoral election, it was decided that the Congress would not participate in the mayoral election.

State Congress spokesperson Rajeev Sharma said that it was unanimously decided in the meeting that the councilors of both the BJP and AAP parties have failed to live up to the expectations of the residents of Chandigarh and hence the Congress will not participate in the mayoral election.

Competition to send photos, not voting

BJP and AAP might be competing for victory in the elections, but all the three parties are on top in the photo session. The BJP tried to show its solidarity by sending a photo from Kumarhatti in Himachal. If there is a rift in the party, the black clouds behind in the photo can spoil the plans of the BJP, on the other hand, AAP also gave a message of unity by posing for photographs with Pradeep Chhabra and Prem Garg in Kharar.

Congress had left the field a long time ago shared his photo while formulating his strategy, while the lone councilor of Akali Dal shared his photo with Sukhbir Badal. How true the solidarity seen in the photo will prove to be, it will be known tomorrow afternoon.

Leave a Comment